Writers, Keep the Wind in Your Sails

I’m not a sailor, but I’ve been in a sailboat many times with people who are. One thing I’ve learned about sailing is that if you don’t keep the wind in your sails, you don’t go anywhere.

Writing is like that for me.

In case no one has told you, revision is harder than writing the rough draft – at least I’ve found it to be so. When writing the rough draft, it doesn’t matter what you write, just that you keep writing. But suddenly, in the revision, it matters a great deal.

Sometimes I waver on the edge of paralysis with fear that I won’t get it as good as I can. Certainly I’m terrified that I won’t get it as good as it needs to be to appease that scary monster, Publishing.

Then I write to my friend, Cathy, and she buoys me back up – i.e. “See how it feels.  If you don’t like it, go back to you original approach.  It’s your child, after all, and you don’t want it to become someone else’s.” And I’m running fast again, almost heeling over, I’ve got so much wind in my sails.

My readers have been a comfort and a challenge to me. My brother-in-law, Gary said,  “I don’t think I would have read it all the way through.” Yikes! What does he know? He’s a guy, and I’m writing for women! But Gary was right. I determined that no one would say that again – if I could help it.

Lastly – though this is really first – I go to the Creator of the wind. If I’m writing for the Lord, funny how it goes much better if I remember to pray.

© Cristine Eastin, 2012
Categories: Christianity, Writing | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

