A Word’s Worth

Maybe it’s time for a revolt. Our language has gotten revolting!

To wit, here’s a video pertaining to same. It reminds me of Professor Higgins’s lament in “My Fair Lady”:

Oh, why can’t the English learn to set 
A good example to people whose 
English is painful to your ears? 
The Scotch and the Irish leave you close to tears. 
There even are places where English completely
disappears. In America, they haven’t used it for years! 

So, hang on—this guy talks fast! And enjoy.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “A Word’s Worth

  1. Trish

    I’ve been on this soapbox for a long time. When you have a President who can’t pronounce “nuclear” correctly, it’s pretty sad. Some day I’m going to just tell the server, “it was NEVER a problem!” when they’ve responded “no problem” instead of “you’re welcome!”

  2. I know. (Sigh) I often wonder how those who use “like” for noun, adjective, and verb…all in the same sentence…are ever going to sound remotely intelligent. Hopefully, they can retrain their speech. After all, I quit saying “far out.”

  3. Barb

    Along with Trish’s comment, I’m always tempted to tell the server who refers to everyone at the table as “guys” that I am not guy! Another overused word: Awesome (the new “far out”! 🙂

    • I agree, Barb! We were in a restaurant last night and the server called my husband, “Sir.” I almost did a double take, it was so unfamiliar to my ears anymore. That was after the hostess who seated us had called us “guys.”

  4. Barb

    not a guy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

