It’s Too Darn Hot!

Here in Wisconsin we’re having a hot, humid, horrible patch. It makes me want to scream. Don the striped pajamas and be a prisoner in my house. But instead of our usual inertia and complaining about the weather, last Sunday we hopped in the air conditioned truck and took off on a drive in the country. We ended up at a beautiful county park that was new to us.

The breeze was just right to keep the horse flies and mosquitoes at bay. I wandered down to the lake where a family of geese scuttled into the water. Too hot for a walk, I ambled around the edge of wildflower meadows, snapping photos. The profusion of flowers was breathtaking.

We ended our day sitting on a patio overlooking a river, eating a gelato—a double.

The day got me waxing philosophical. If I had stayed indoors, cowering from the heat and humidity, I never would have delighted in the wildflowers. In fact, I would have missed the peak bloom of the season.

There’s a life lesson in here somewhere.

Fill in the blanks for yourself.

“If I had……, I never would have…….”

 

 

Categories: Psychology | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

