Beautiful?

“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” This wisdom was penned by Margaret Wolfe Hungerford in her 1878 book Molly Bawn, though the phrase has floated in some form through our literary history since about the third century BC. Truth in the perfectly crafted sentence.

Example: My dad thought his pug dog was beautiful. Sorry, but there’s an ug in pug. (Don’t go all schoolmarm on me—I know it’s u-g-h.)

Glaucous-Winged Gull

Glaucous-Winged Gull

Another example: My brother-in-law refers to seagulls as “winged rats.” True, they’re messy, noisy, and pesky, but I  find them captivating.

The day I took this shot, I must have taken a dozen photos of the raucous Glaucous. Then I tweaked and cropped those photos so I have enough for a gallery show.

Last example: I’ve actually heard snakes called beautiful by some misguided, weird, downright blind people. Believe you me, you won’t find a picture of a snake on this blog!

Categories: Photography, Psychology | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Beautiful?

  1. Ray

    Finally getting around to reading John McPhee’s Annals of the Former World (which I think Dave was reading a year or two ago). Reading this book gives me new eyes to see Yellowstone and surrounding areas. Context makes a difference.
    Ray

  2. Ray

    My comment was really on the Montana trip.

  3. Thanks for the comment, Ray. Your comment is stuck under seagulls since I don’t know how to move it up to the Montana trip posts.
    Dave says to beware, you might get hooked on McPhee. Then you’ll have to read about fish, coal trains, merchant vessels on the ocean, and everything else under the sun that McPhee writes about—in detail.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

